Skip to content
Compare

Sourceteller vs the alternatives.

An honest side-by-side of AI customer-support assistants — Intercom Fin, Zendesk AI, Chatbase, Tidio, CustomGPT.ai, SiteGPT and Botpress — on price, sources, channels and languages. Including where they are the better choice.

Facts from each vendor’s own pages, checked 5 October 2026

How to choose

You have developers and want to build custom flows

Botpress

You want cited answers, pay-as-you-go, with a phone line and Telegram

Sourceteller

Side by side

Scroll sideways on small screens. Tap a product name for the full comparison.

FeatureSourcetellerIntercom FinZendesk AI agentsChatbaseTidio (Lyro)CustomGPT.aiSiteGPTBotpress
How you payOne-off credit packs. No subscription; credits never expire$0.99 per resolved conversation, plus helpdesk seats if you use IntercomPer-agent helpdesk subscription, plus per automated resolutionMonthly subscription with message creditsSubscription plans plus a Lyro AI add-on billed by conversation quotaMonthly subscription capped by queriesMonthly subscription with a message quotaSubscription with a conversation quota, plus AI usage at cost
Lowest paid entry$5 one-off pack$0.99 per outcome, 50-outcome monthly minimum$19/agent/month (annual), 5 resolutions per agent included$40/month (Hobby): 700 credits, 2–6 credits per messageLyro from $32.50/month (annual) for 50 AI conversations$99/month ($89 annual), 1,000 queries$59/month ($39 annual), 4,000 messages on the smaller modelPlus $150/month (annual): 250 conversations, $25 AI usage
Free option1,000 free credits, no card14-day trial, no card14-day trialFree plan, 50 credits/month; idle agents deleted after 14 daysFree plan with a one-time 50 Lyro conversations7-day trial, card required7-day trial, card requiredFree plan, 25 conversations/month (AI usage not included)
Shows sources to customersEvery answer links to the exact passage, including PDFs and scansSource links in chat and email; none for PDFs, or on WhatsApp and socialOptional setting shows article linksNot stated on official pagesSource links under answers, on by defaultCitation on every responseLinks to web pages, not to uploaded files; can be hiddenCitations available for builders to display
AI phone lineYour own number over SIP, 36 spoken languages, from the first packFin Voice for select customers, through salesVoice AI agent on Suite plans; availability variesAI phone agent, from Standard ($150/month)Not listedNot listedNot listedVoice channel on Enterprise; Twilio Voice integration
TelegramBuilt inNot listedThrough Sunshine Conversations, Suite Professional and upNot listedNot listedThrough an API script you deployNot listedYes
WhatsApp / MessengerNot yet, on the roadmapWhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, SMSWhatsApp, Messenger, InstagramWhatsApp, Messenger, InstagramWhatsApp, Messenger, InstagramWhatsApp by API script; Messenger and Instagram in betaWhatsApp as a $39/month add-on; Messenger from GrowthWhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram
ShopifyWidget through your theme today; App Store app with order lookups comingShopify app; reads order statusApp for human agents; AI order lookups need a custom API stepShopify app with order, cart and returns actionsNative; Lyro can check order statusWidget pasted into your themeEmbed code in your themeProduct sync integration
Languages72 written, 36 spoken, plus Banglish45 languages80 languages95+ languages48 languages90+ languages95+ languagesMultilingual; no count published
Handoff to a personGives customers your own contact route; no live-chat inboxFull Intercom helpdesk, or works with yoursFull Zendesk helpdeskEscalation to live chat and helpdeskLive chat and tickets“Talk to a human” button; no live takeoverHuman takeover on every planHuman handoff on Plus and up
Your data kept out of AI trainingNever used to train modelsLLM providers barred from training on itThird parties don’t train on your inputsNot used to train modelsNot stated publiclyNever used to train modelsNever used to train models“No training on your data” stated on the Enterprise page

Yes With conditions No Not published by the vendor

We built this from each vendor’s public pricing, product and help pages on 5 October 2026. Prices change; where a vendor publishes nothing, we say “not published” rather than guess. Each comparison page lists its sources. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it. Product names are trademarks of their owners.

Questions

Which AI chatbots show their sources to customers?

Sourceteller links every answer to the exact passage, including PDFs and scans. Tidio Lyro and CustomGPT.ai show source links by default; Intercom Fin shows them for public web content in chat and email; SiteGPT links web pages but not uploaded files; Zendesk has an optional setting; Botpress leaves it to the builder.

Which AI customer-support tools have no monthly subscription?

Of the tools compared here, Sourceteller is the one sold as one-off credit packs (from $5, about 1 cent per answer, credits never expire). Intercom Fin is usage-based at $0.99 per resolution but has a 50-outcome monthly minimum; the others are monthly or annual subscriptions, some with a limited free plan.

Which can answer a phone line?

Sourceteller connects to your own number over SIP from the first pack. Chatbase has an AI phone agent from its $150-a-month Standard plan; Zendesk offers a voice AI agent on Suite plans; Intercom offers Fin Voice to selected customers through sales; Botpress lists voice on Enterprise.

Start here

Give it your website.
Ask it one question.

That is the whole evaluation. If the answer comes back in your customer’s language with the right passage attached, you already know whether this works for you.

No card · credits never expire · every language from day one

  1. 1
    Sign upNo card. Your free credits land straight away.
  2. 2
    Add your website or filesPaste an address, drop your documents — it reads them in minutes.
  3. 3
    Put it liveWidget, phone line, Telegram or a share link. Same answers on all of them.